New Year’s Resolutions 2016 ♡ Chanel in a Nutshell

Hi, loves. Happy New Year!  I haven’t had a post up since August. How unbelievable is that? That is because of one thing. School. School has pretty much been my entire life lately. I am a freshman in high school and had to adapt to the transition from middle to high school. In my opinion, I was babied a little too much in middle school, so all of the work and responsibilities in high school came as a slap in the face.

Volleyball season has ended, so I have a lot more time on my hands, but teachers are giving out more and more work, meaning that all of that time will be taken up by school, unfortunately. Things have gotten better though. My grades are gradually going up, and I am learning how to manage my time and discipline myself better.

Today’s post is going to be about my New Year’s Resolutions.

1.) Actually Get Fit/in Shape. 

Fitness2

Fitness3

Fitness4

I know, I know, everyone and their mother want to get fit on January 1st. Last year I was actually pretty fit until about July. I’m not sure why I just stopped working out and eating healthy, but I definitely want to get back into it. I want to create a healthy lifestyle, not just to have some health kick or health nut phase. I definitely not going to restrict myself from eating three slices of cake one day, but I want to shape up my diet and tone up a little.

I am looking forward to seeing results from this. If any of you would like to see a post on my fitness journey, please let me know in the comments section.

2.) Drink More Water.

Water

This sort of goes along with the whole fitness thing, but I definitely want to make sure I am keeping hydrated. Can you believe I have went days without drinking any water? I’m surprised that I’ve never got excessively dehydrated before. I always start my morning with a cup of tea. but throughout the day I would just drink juice or hot chocolate or nothing at all. This is not a good thing at all. I have seen that my lips and skin has been dryer and it’s probably because of how little water I’ve been drinking.

This is a simple fix, but I want to make sure I’m doing it. I started by bring a water bottle to school every day. How many of you went to go get water after reading this? :)

3.) Manage My Time Better.

Planner

Mason Jar

This school year, I realized that I am absolutely horrible at time management. When I say horrible, I mean horrible. Time management is one of the most important things you need to master as student, and I did not get it right off the bat. I have been progressing in time management, but I still have to learn to do some things right when it comes to that.

I am working on remembering to use my planner and write everything down, because that will definitely help. If any of you would like to see a post on how I organize/use my planner or just some time management tips, please leave me a comment.

4.) Get Better Grades.

Study1

Study2

My grades have definitely gotten better from he beginning of the year, but there is always room for improvement. I know I can do even better than how I’m doing now, even though I am doing quite well. I feel like if I manage my time and study a little better, then I feel like I could really do well.

Right now, school is one of the most important things in my life. My high school grades are one of the main things that determine whether I get into college and what college I go to. College pretty much is preparation for the rest of my entire life. I think you can see why I value my studies so much. I want to have a successful, comfortable life when I get older, so I need to put in the work now.

5.) Read More Books.

Book Stack

I’ve always been super into reading. It’s one of my favorite things to do. In 2015, I feel I got too sucked into technology and social media to be able to pick up a physical book and read. I’ve read a few good books last year, and one of my goals is definitely to read a ton more.

I want to rediscover my love for books and find even more. I am quite the speedy reader, so let’s see how many books I can read this year. If you would like me to do some type of post about books, please let me know in the comments!

6.) Spend More Time with God.

Bible Study

January Devo

God is the most important thing in my life and I found that in 2015 I only went to him for help. I only talked to God when I was in trouble or needed his grace for something. I want to devote some time each day to God. Since I’m not on break anymore, I probably won’t have enough time in the morning to devote as much time as possible to God. I probably won’t have enough time to actually take my time to get ready for school and not forget anything either… oops.

I want to start out each day by thanking God for another day that he has added to my life and just for everything I have. I got a devotional book about two years ago and was never able to consistently read it. for each day there is one lesson on one page and I want to be reading them every day. I can definitely do a post about getting closer to God and never losing faith when I get better myself with this.

7.) Appreciate/ Pay Attention to the Little Things.

Little Things

I think that I am a very grateful person. I appreciate my amazing, supportive family and my awesome friends along with everything and every opportunity I have. But one of the things I need to improve on is no matter the circumstances, always remaining thankful. When things don’t go my way, I tend to get ungrateful and think things such as Why is this happening to me? Why couldn’t this have happened to someone else? Why can’t I have this or that?  These are not good thoughts to have. I want to always have a positive mind and be thankful no matter how things are.

__________

I hope you enjoyed this post and that it inspired you to improve on some things this year! Please feel free to leave below something you wish to do better on this year.

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

Instagram // Twitter // Bloglovin’

jasmine

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2016 ♡ Chanel in a Nutshell

    • Jessica,
      Thank you so much! I wanted to be reasonable about this year, because I feel like people can set unrealistic goals for the new year. I just got back to school and I’m definitely working on managing my time better and getting better grades. Thanks for reading! :)
      -Jasmine

      Like

Leave a Reply

