5 Ways to Fall Asleep FASTER & BETTER

5 Ways to Fall Asleep

Hello loves and happy Sunday!I know that during the summertime, people’s sleeping schedules tend to get ruined due to waking up at two in the afternoon and going to sleep at two in the morning.

This post should help you to fall asleep as fast as possible as well as getting a good night’s rest. We all hate waking up in the middle of the night and not being able to go back to sleep. These tips will also help you to have a more productive summer, especially if you have a business or you’re a blogger, or YouTube personality.

Enjoy!

  Power Down

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Please excuse my crusty OtterBox Case LOL

Do you ever feel like you just can’t turn off your phone or your computer? Yeah, me too. Turning off and unplugging from all electronics at least thirty minutes to an hour before bed will definitely help you to sleep better at night.

The stimulation in your brain from a screen will prevent your mind from being able to wind down and sleep. Also comparing yourself to people online and seeing parts of other people’s lives will not help you to wind down.

If you set an alarm, make sure to put your phone on “Do Not Disturb” and set it across the room and far away from your bed so that you’re not tempted to hide under your covers and watch YouTube videos or refresh your Twitter timeline.

Begin Routine

A powerful technique to get your brain into that “settle down” mode is getting into a routine that you will follow every night at the same time. Following a routine every night at the same time will tell your brain “Hey! It’s time to wind down now!” Instead of scrolling through your favorite blogger’s Instagram feed, take thirty minutes to an hour to remove your makeup, take a shower, perform  your skincare routine, etc.

I personally love to take care of my skin and take time to really cleanse myself. This will make you feel fresh and clean right before bed. Brush your teeth, floss, use mouthwash, I don’t know. Go the extra mile to take care of yourself physically and mentally.

Tidy up and Declutter

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA  KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Once you’re all fresh and clean, pick up your room. Knowing that you have a messy room and trying to sleep in it does not work. Stressing about having to clean up your room the next day will not help you to wind down and go to bed.

I’m not telling you to wipe off every surface in your bedroom or bring out the vacuum cleaner. If you have dirty clothes on the floor, put them in a basket. Maybe clean up papers on your desk. For me, I usually have to clean up my bedside table and clothes and equipment used for taking pictures. Just make sure your room is not a complete and utter mess before you get some shuteye.

Nightly Rituals

Add a little bit of your personality to your night by having a few nightly rituals. Take some time to do something that you love that does not involve technology. I love to make a cup of Tazo’s Calm Chamomile Tea every night and read my devotionals if I didn’t that morning and a chapter or two of the book that I’m currently reading. Every once in a while, I’ll put on a face mask.

When I’m done with that I say goodnight to family and do a short prayer before I shut my eyes. That is what makes me happy and always helps me to fall asleep at night.  You might like to write about your day or some goals that you have. Just make sure you take at least ten or fifteen minutes out of your night to really wind down and do something you love,

Plan the Next Day

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA  KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I always make a to-do list every single night before going to bed. I have a crazy mind that’s always worrying about the future and how I can prepare, so I always like to make a to-do list to get all of my worries about the next day onto paper so that I know what needs to be done. A typical to-do list of mine would include working out, taking/editing pictures, writing a post, planning my blog posts and maybe doing some laundry or grocery shopping.

Make sure to plan out tomorrow every night so that you have a more productive day and are not forgetting about things that you might need to do.

__________

I hope this post  helped you to get a better night’s sleep! Please make sure to like this post and leave a comment below on your thoughts of this post and any future posts that you would want to see.

What is an important part of your nightly routine before bed? 

jasmine

Instagram || Twitter || Bloglovin’

 

4 thoughts on “5 Ways to Fall Asleep FASTER & BETTER

  1. Great post :D Going after the stress part of not being able to sleep is a very clever way of doing it. I have had troubles sleeping for years, and I feel like the doctors advice are too clinical. Yours seem more real and straightforward, so I`m definitely going to try them! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

