Tea Time #4

Good morning, and happy Sunday! The past two weeks have literally been psychotic, oh my god. I have so much to tell you, so grab yourself a cup of tea, a glass of ice water, whatever your preference is, and just enjoy. I am going straight into this post.

School wise, the past two weeks have been pretty mellow. I’ve had a few tests and such here and there, but nothing like in my last Tea  Time post. I didn’t do one the week after that because there was literally nothing going on in my life, it was literally just school work I was doing. Most of the things that have been going on that have been stressing me out are social things.

I have been friends with someone for about a year, and I realized that they are not the person who I thought they were. Kylie was 100% right when she said that this was the year of realizing things. This person whom I was friends with turned out to be super mean and just draining the life out of me. No, I am not here to drag them, and I have absolutely nothing against this person. There is so much more to the story, but I am about being classy and not putting problems such as this one out to the world. They are so mean to everyone, including me, someone that they considered their friend.

I’ve just realized that it’s important who you allow into your life. You do not need to be friends with or loved by everyone. Only associate yourself with kind-hearted, happy-minded who people who lift you up and inspire you to be the best version of yourself. I found that I was associating myself with rude, nasty people who drain the life and happiness out of me. This is a mistake that you, reading this, should learn from. Don’t be a people pleaser like I was, and try and be friends with everyone just so people don’t hate you. I know it may seem selfish, but you have to think about yourself before anyone else. At the end of the day, you only have yourself. You have to live with yourself and your soul and your spirit for the rest of your life, so why not treat yourself nicely. Don’t engage in drama and boy problems rather than focusing on doing well in school or the people in your life who don’t put you down.

Also, always remember to take time for yourself. Though it is important to have good people in your life, you should do something for yourself at least once every day. I like to take twenty minutes at the end of every day to spray some lavender on my bed and pillows and read a good book. Lately, I’ve been reading Girl Code by Cara Alwill Leyba, and that’s such an inspirational, easy read to relax your brain before bed. If i’m feeling extra fancy, I might even make myself some tea (decaf of course). On the weekends (usually Sundays, because it’s my favorite day of the week and shawty loves a good Sunday Funday), I will take an hour or two and make tea, put on a face mask, paint my nails, shower, shave, do the whole sha-bang and pamper myself. I will continue with my ritual of reading, but sometimes I like to go the extra mile. Doing something for yourself, at least once a week, whether it be buying yourself your favorite Starbucks drink or buying yourself that scarf you’ve been dying over, will keep you sane.

I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day! Always remember to put your feelings first.

jasmine

Instagram // Twitter // Bloglovin’

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

